GoingFullCircleBlog

Growing Worshiping Disciples on Mission for Christ

Return to the Cross: Worship Team Devotional

Leave a comment

 cross01

A WORSHIP TEAM DEVOTIONAL:

“When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” is widely regarded as the most popular Christian hymn in the world. Isaac Watts, the English hymn writer, wrote this great hymn of our faith in 1707.

When I survey the wondrous cross,

On which the Prince of glory died,

My richest gain I count but loss,

And pour contempt on all my pride.

Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,

Save in the death of Christ, my God;

All the vain things that charm me most,

I sacrifice them to His blood.

I keep asking this question. It haunts me as I stand to sing another hymn on another Sunday in another worship service across these long years of church attendance. Would you, Almighty God, the creator of the universe, send your Son to die for me just so we can have a somewhat inspiring and mildly entertaining worship service each week? Is that why you sacrificed your very own Son to a violent death on a cruel cross? There must be more! Show us, O Lord, what more there is to worship. Heal the blindness that comes from being too familiar with church…and worship… and you.

ASK your team: How can our worship truly reflect the power of the cross of Christ?  What barriers are standing in the way?  What obstructions are obscuring the cross before us when we gather in worship?  What must happen in our worship for the cross to be lifted up in all its power and promise?

Prayer: Oh, Lord, when I see what you have done for me by sending Jesus to die on the cross for my sin, I am overwhelmed. Nothing that I personally could ever achieve could count more than the gift of your Son. Nothing in which I could ever take pride could equal your love for me. Yet Lord, I have taken the cross for granted. Christ’s gift of his blood and his body too easily becomes old news to those of us in church. Forgive me, and help the cross live again in my life and destiny everyday.  MP

(Watts, “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross,” Public Domain.)

 

Author: Mark Powers

Director, Worship and Music, South Carolina Baptist Convention, Columbia SC. Author - "GOING FULL CIRCLE: Worship that Moves Us to Discipleship and Missions" - www.GoingFullCircle.org (Resource Publications, Wipf & Stock, Eugene OR, 2013) President, www.WorshipWise.com - Growing Brilliant Worship Leaders . Presenter/Speaker on the MusicArts Mission Movement (M3). To contact MP about presenting or speaking for your conference or training event, e-mail markpowers@scbaptist.org or call 803-227-6166. I would love to come and share how your worship ministries can join God on mission in your community!

Leave a Reply

