GoingFullCircleBlog

Growing Worshiping Disciples on Mission for Christ

Worship Team Meditation, Easter Week 2016: I Stand Amazed

Leave a comment

cross01 I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene,

and wonder how He could love me, a sinner condemned unclean.

How marvelous, how wonderful, and my song shall ever be:

How marvelous, how wonderful is my Savior’s love for me.

Jesus had sent his disciples on mission. They had returned to recount gloriously of the miracles they had performed and lives they had touched in Jesus’ name. What an amazing privilege was theirs to be in Jesus’ presence every day and see his love touching lives. And when Jesus asked Peter his opinion of who Jesus is, Peter replied, “You are the Messiah of God.” Jesus didn’t deny it. What must the disciples have thought? These Jewish men, looking for a conquering messiah to restore the kingdom of Israel to power and sovereignty, must have thought: “Our time has come. Surely God will vindicate his chosen nation now and we will rule with him, sitting at his right hand.

He took my sins and my sorrows,

He made them His very own.

He bore my burden to Calvary and suffered and died alone.

How marvelous, how wonderful, and my song shall ever be:

How marvelous, how wonderful is my Savior’s love for me.

Immediately after Peter’s confession, Jesus drastically reoriented the disciples’ thinking. First, he foretold his own crucifixion. Then he gave them two commands: deny yourself and take up the cross. What must the disciples have thought? A shudder of fear must have chilled them as they heard Jesus’ reference to the cross—the Roman instrument of torture and slow death reserved for the worst criminals. If my Savior is to bear rejection and death for others, then I as his disciple must follow the same path of service. In one sentence, Christ redefined what it means to follow him. The essence of kingdom living is now self-denial and service, not power or coercion. Take up the cross and follow Christ in self-sacrifice!

When with the ransomed in glory, His face I at last shall see,

Twill be my song through the ages to sing of His love for me.

How marvelous, how wonderful, and my song shall ever be:

How marvelous, how wonderful is my Savior’s love for me!

Gabriel, “I Stand Amazed in the Presence,” Public Domain.

NOTE: – During May and June, I will be teaching an online course based on my book GOING FULL CIRCLE.  The course runs 7 weeks – totally online – and is called “Growing Worshiping Disciples on Mission”.  Please join me for this! Cost is $285 plus a $30 tech fee. Go here and scroll down for lots of info and videos about our School of Worship Leadership at Missional University: http://missional.university/index.php/swl.   — Mark Powers

Author: Mark Powers

Director, Worship and Music, South Carolina Baptist Convention, Columbia SC. Author - "GOING FULL CIRCLE: Worship that Moves Us to Discipleship and Missions" - www.GoingFullCircle.org (Resource Publications, Wipf & Stock, Eugene OR, 2013) President, www.WorshipWise.com - Growing Brilliant Worship Leaders . Presenter/Speaker on the MusicArts Mission Movement (M3). To contact MP about presenting or speaking for your conference or training event, e-mail markpowers@scbaptist.org or call 803-227-6166. I would love to come and share how your worship ministries can join God on mission in your community!

Leave a Reply

